I beli…I beli…That’s all folks!

How appropriate to use the parting line from Porky Pig on Looney Tunes to end this blog. Seeing as how I referenced the beginning of the house build with the Three Little Pigs story. Full circle, baby. We have come full circle.

And, yes, we are in the house. Received our Certificate of Occupancy on April 25th after passing our last inspection. For those who are crunching numbers, that is one year and ten months from when we started excavating for the house. Or around June 23rd, 2017 for those who hate doing the math.

It feels good to be done. Mostly. We still have to add our mudroom to the front of the house but that will be a small affair to be done later this year. We will use whatever is left over from the original timber frame (6x8x16′ rafters), siding and such. No straw bales this time. Your basic, boring, 2×4 set up. Just a place to put our muddy boots and coats.

Moving into this house from the barn apartment has been an adjustment. Like getting used to running water at the turn of a handle. We still use the water sparingly. That’s what comes from hauling five gallon buckets up from the well for four years. You become much more conscientious of how much you use. Which must have been very little, indeed, when I saw how dirty our counter appliances were when we transferred them to the light of day in the house. Yeow.

I believe I speak for both of us when I say we miss the barn apartment: it’s efficient, cozy layout (600 sq. ft), the view from the second story window out onto the fields. Using a flashlight to look for things that could only be on that floor because that was the only floor. Now have three floors to search for lost items. I won’t miss the lack of lighting though. The house is wide open with windows that allow for more natural light and that is a plus for me. Who knows, maybe now I will be able to stay awake past 8 p.m. Or not.

It is now the second week of May and most of our energy and thoughts are farm-based. Due to the warm weather we got towards the end of April we have already harvested some of our asparagus, which was way early. That stuff doesn’t usually pop up until mid- to late May. In between rain showers we have been getting some dirt under our nails planting cold tolerant plants like brassicas and some lettuces. Time to concentrate on the plants and relax in the evenings surrounded by our labor of love. We could not have done this house without the help and support of family and friends. We think of you all as we sit and contemplate a corner here or a wall over there. Sigh. It’s good to be home.

 

6 thoughts on “I beli…I beli…That’s all folks!

  1. Congratulations! Such a labor of love. It’s been amazing to witness your hard work and determination. Gotta celebrate! Love you both. J and J

    >

    Like

  2. So very happy and proud of y’all what an accomplishment. Hope we get to visit one day and see this amazing home y’all have built together.

    Like

  3. Dear Mary and Jonathan,
    I need more words to say CONGRATULATIONS on the completion of your HOME! I will miss the blog, BUT I will now visualize you in your beautiful creation of a home, living toward “a more simple life.” I am amazed at all you have done with so many friends in community. YOU TWO are amazing.
    I would love to see a pic of both of you in your new home. Do I dare ask?!
    May beauty always surround you.
    love and peace, jill

    Like

  4. So happy for you guys. I have shared your story with people who would really get it and I am amazed at the number of people who don’t understand all of what you did or why. A lot of stunned, confused faces. What an accomplishment! The photos you have shared and your blogs were so fun to read/see. Like a little gift to open, excited to see what came next. Perhaps you’ll find another topic to blog. You are a fun read. Quite clever with your writings.

    Love you girl! Perhaps, someday, I will see you pretty home in person. Love, Karen

    Like

Leave a comment